Users can be added and modified through the user dialog accessed by the Users action in the Operator menu in developer mode.



This dialog will show all existing users, the Add user button can be used to create a new user, Modify user (or double click in the table) can be used to modify the selected user.

Adding user

Clicking on Add user will show the following dialog.



Username and Password will be used by the user to sign in, the username needs to be unique within the database. Permissions will define what options the user will have available:

  • A Developer has all perClass Mira features available, as well as settings for the operator mode.
  • An Operator can only use the operator mode, but is allowed to change the project and to record the references.
  • A Kiosk user can only use the operator mode, and only what a Developer has configured to be available for them.


A new user will always be marked as active.

Modifying user

Clicking on Modify user will show the following dialog.



Here the username, password, permissions, and active state can be changed. Marking a user as inactive will make it impossible for them to sign in, this is the closest to deleting a user without breaking the database references. The permissions and active state cannot be changed for the initial user.

Signing in

A user can sign in using the Sign in action in the Operator menu, or Sign in on the toolbar in operator mode. Clicking this will show the sign in dialog.



After a user has signed in perClass Mira will directly switch to operator mode for users with operator or kiosk permissions.


TIP: Users with developer permissions can also switch to operator mode directly if Ctrl+Shift are down while clicking on OK.

Signing out

When a user is signed in, then they will also be to sign out again using the Sign out action in the Operator menu, or Sign out on the toolbar in operator mode. For users with Kiosk permissions, the toolbar may not be visible, and if it is, then the button may not be visible, they can only sign out using the Ctrl+Shift+L shortcut. After signing out, perClass Mira will return to the no user mode, unless it has been configured to require an user to be signed in.